Upcycling casual dress into peplum top

I said I wanna design in another post. But I’ve being lazy in actually draping or pinning on dummy…..Until yesterday I was cleaning up my closet and found a few garments which were out of my interest list forever and I was close to throw them away. Out of a sudden I thought that I could upcycling them and give them a second chance to stay.

This is a real simple project to be the warm-up exercise for my long-forgotten design path I guess… CREATING is always a rewarding and encouraging process. Though this is just a simple transformation, I feel that I can actually DO something from my imagination. I missed that feeling!!!! Yeah I’m gonna really upcycle more clothing and hopefully can put that on my online shop one day!

OK, let’s start…p.s. this peplum top is not for sale 😛

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

Before & After : Was a casual one-piece dress, Now a peplum top. Mix and match that with pencil skirt or shorts would be great…

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

The dress was originally look like this. Sorry I forget to take a picture until I started cutting…

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

Cut away the bottom part of the shell fabric.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

And then the lining.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

This is the lining that were cut-away. I cut it further in half to make it the ruffle attached to the waistline. I’m using running stitch for the gathering. You can use sewing machine for faster and evener results. Remember to use a very loose stitch. I’m lazy to go downstairs to my sewing machines so I hand do it..:P

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

This is how the gathering looks like.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

I’ve pinned the bodice lining with waist darts for a more fitting look. Then attach the ruffle to the edge of the bodice. Secure two ends first, it’d be easier for you to adjust the gathering. Always remember to leave seam allowance for over-locking.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

Adjusting the width of the gathering…

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

After the ruffle is attached. Now work on the shell fabric. Again I was lazy..I just gathered at the waist to make a fitting look. I may change it into darts later…Anyway let’s continue.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

This is the cut-away bottom part. Same as the lining, I cut it in half to produce ruffles.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

Using hand running stitch again.

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

The gathered fabric looks interesting as a decorative collar! But I’m not gonna do that now 😛 Let’s attach the ruffle to waistline…

Sewing DIY Floral Peplum top

Yeahhhhhh this is how it looks like!! I’m thinking to hide the edges of the ruffle under the bodice waist seam. But it’s different style with the edges on top. All I have to do now is finishing the seams!! And a new peplum top is ready to be part of my closet 🙂

If you have an unwanted dress you can do this too…!

2 responses to “Upcycling casual dress into peplum top

  1. It was hard to find your articles in google.
    I found it on 22 place, you should build some quality backlinks , it will help
    you to increase traffic. I know how to help you, just search in google
    – k2 seo tips and tricks

  2. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot
    of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, google friendly articles in seconds, just search
    in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

