Inspiring Ethnic Colours

Hoklo people are boat people who made their living by fishing. The Hong Kong Museum of History has showcased numbers of Hoklo traditional costume, which mainly consist of children’s clothing and related accessories. They are richly embroidered with colorful threads and made with floral fabrics. It is believed that colours are blessings for children.

Image

This is actually Hakka children collar. The patch work and colour combination are stunning! And the beaded trimming is lovely!

Image

Below are Hoklo children wear and accessories.

Image

Star shaped/flower shaped collar. Imagine these on little kids’ neck. Too cute ;P

Image

Image

Black fabric embroidered with shiny beads and sequins. You can also see some Chinese blessing words embroidered around the collar. The edge is trimmed with strand of beads.

Image

Image

They seem to love using the flower shape. But I suddenly think of starfish…Hoklo are boat people! Maybe they get this inspiration from the sea?

Image

This one look so girly and elegant 😉

Image

Image

Baby-carriers!! How colourful they are!! Babies must be blessed in them 😉

Image

Image

Image

The embrodiery of this one is rich and stunning! The width of each line of trimming is about 0.5~0.7cm I guess. Endless time is needed to craft this masterpiece…

Image

A boy jacket with complementary colours. They got colour senses…!

Below are 3 children’s wind hats.

Image

Image

Image

I wish I had this when I was a child! lol If I had a child, I’d like to make one for him/her ;P

I always wonder why ethnic clothing are usually so colourful? What inspire them to make such vivid clothing? Nature is one of them. They’ve got floral and animal prints in their crafts a lot. And I suppose colour-loving is the natural instinct of human. “Colourful” is also a blessing to them I guess. Who don’t love colours? Even though you wear black all the day you long for colours I know it. 😛

2 responses to “Inspiring Ethnic Colours

  1. I definitely long for colors, my friend, especially ones like these! They are all so beautiful! I can’t believe the care and detail that go into each item, it’s just spectacular!!

  2. Everyone long for colours. I totally believe in that! And I’m not only longed for them, I’m obsessed with colours!! So you can imagine how excited I was when I saw these beautiful ethnic crafts!! Their details are fascinating! I stood there and examined those craftsmanship over and over again. I didn’t even wanna leave!!

Leave a Reply

