Experiencing Old Hong Kong

Hong Kong Museum of History is a cool place for you to know more about Hong Kong’s heritage in an entertaining way. The permanent exhibition here is called “The Hong Kong Story”. It’s filled with collectibles and models, which demonstrated the culture and life here. There’re 8 galleries, showing HK’s history from 6000 years ago to the year 1997(when HK return to China).

Among these galleries I love the “Folk Culture in HK” and “Modern Metropolis” the most!! I’m always interested in how people lived in old days.

The “Folk Culture in HK” got a bunch of funny and colourful exhibits. I love the Hoklo(A ethnic group) costume, traditional  paper lanterns, Chinese operas and old houses in this gallery! I’ve took lots of pictures and was inspired the most here!

The “Modern Metropolis” showed many old shop examples, vintage household items, HK made goods back in the 60s~80s. Again I’m amazed by the saturated colours! Why were the designs in old days so colourful?

Image

This is a child’s collar of Hakka people(an ethnic group). My grandparentes were Hakka people! But why didn’t I get this when I was a child….? I’d love to have one lol

Image

The marriage certificate got embroidery…!!

Image

Room decors of usual Hakka family. Is the baby basket really safe with only 1 robe hanging from the roof…?

Image

Old style kitchen..and…my home’s kitchen is exactly like this!!!!! But I’m not using firewood anymore. Actually I’ve never used them. I’d like to try though.

Image

Handmade paper big lantern. About 2 meters tall?! Trimmed with paper flowers.

Image

Giant effigies of Chinese Gods. These guys are about 5 to 6 meters tall I guess. They look a bit funny when you look closely…This is good. Gods are not supposed to scare you 😛 Can be found in Taiping Qingjiao Ceremony.

Image

Demonstration of Chinese Operas. They’re too real and creepy. I thought they could really move…I was scarying myself again. I’ve heard lots of ghost stories about Chinese Operas….LOL

Image

Stall selling traditional toys in Taiping Qingjiao Ceremony.

Image

Traditional Chinese medicine store.

Image

Picture of the old Hong Kong Central Post Office. It was demolished and replaced by a modern one in 1976.

Image

A wall of red p.o.boxes

Image

Tailor shop! A Cheongsam on the table.

Image

Vintage packaging design of moon cakes.

Image

Pretty gift box of a department store.

Image

How lovely and dreamy  is this herbal tea shop?!! Pastel pink & green! There was a shop like this near my old home…but was closed 6 or 7 years ago……I miss it!!!!

Image

Demonstration of resettlement estates in 60s. I got that brown wardrobe!!! Seems to be a usual style in that era. I’ve painted it blue now 😛

Image

I adore the print of this table cloth!!

Image

Some Hong Kong Made lights in 60s & 70s

Image

And more household goods made in HK

Image

Vintage fashion patterns!! I wanna collect these but they’re so hard to find!! Not like western patterns which can be found easily on eBay… =_=

2 responses to “Experiencing Old Hong Kong

  1. This is AWESOME!! Oh man, I really loved going on this museum walk with you! It made me SO excited for our trip!!
    I laughed at your baby basket comment…is one enough to hold it? So cute! So true!! I’d be scared to put my baby in that basket for sure! 😀

  2. If you can spare some time you should visit this museum! This is my favourite museum in HK. I’ve been there 5 or 6 times and still not bored! Every time I discover something new 😉 It’s large, you should spare at least 2 hours for the visit…!
    That’s what I thought of instantly when I saw that hahahaaa. The Hakka people were certainly brave to put their babies in that off-the-ground basket….IoI

Leave a Reply

