Laura Laine’s Flowy Girls…and Hair

Laura Laine is a Helsinki based illustrator. She has worked with numerous fashion brands and magazines. She mainly uses pencil and ink in her illustrations. Her drawings are magical, mysterious, fine-detailed and flowy.

Those girls all got dynamic and bouncy hair, which LIVE and DANCE and MOVE so lively and smoothly with different poses.

I was attracted once I saw them! I love pencil and ink drawings. Contrast of black and white makes the drawing focused and powerful.  And I always love dense lines. I have no ideas why …that’s my drawing style too. The other reason I was attracted to her drawings because of the little belief that I had…

I got long hair few years ago. It was almost hip-length lol But then I cut it to chin-length cause summer came. I couldn’t stand the heat!! And I was too lazy to keep long hair pretty and glossy.

But the most important reason was….I often felt tired when having long hair. What I mean is: I felt that my hair took up my body’s energy!!!  I know pregnant women cut their long hair short because they wanna save some energy for babies. This is the same belief.  But I also felt that … my hair had life. It sounds creepy but I believed that.

I won’t grow long hair again(at least not long as hip-length!!) I feel much more alive with short haircut!  Ok I may go cut it soon cause I think shoulder-length now is a bit too long already… and I find that short haircut makes my head look smaller. So in general looking I’m taller cause of body proportion:P

Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration Laura Laine illustration

www.lauralaine.net

Leave a Reply

