Shen Ping and the colours of Hong Kong

I love realistic paintings cause they’re kind of a record of time.

Shen Ping – A Beijing-born artist, later settling in Hong Kong in early 80s. He drew a series of watercolor paintings capturing the city life of Hong Kong. Those scenes are familiar to me. The colours are so vibrant in his paintings. And I can say in reality the colours are even more vibrant! But I frequently forget the beauty of them. I think lots of us forget the attractive scenes around us just because we’re so get used to them. I do hope I can refresh my senses everyday so I won’t miss them…

Visitors often find that Hong Kong is exciting cause this is a hustle and bustle city. Ya things change every second. Trends come and go fast, very fast. Most of the scenes in postcards are still here but I’m not sure when they will disappear. Developments are taking place here every day.

I just can’t feel exciting as visiotrs cause I’m suppressed by the pressure of life. I think it happens in every place….That’s why I love travelling I guess…seeing new things and taking adventures. But what I have discovered is…every time I travel, I miss my home and find that Hong Kong is quite a good place to live. It’s convenient, diverse and really not boring. This is another meaning of travel… to re-discover the good aspects of your city.

Below are some postcards I bought. He also drew some quite rural places but I love the vivid colours of city life. Click to enlarge ❤

City Life of Hong Kong

City Life of Hong Kong

Shen Ping City Life of Hong Kong, Trams

City Life of Hong Kong

City Life of Hong Kong, Star Ferry

City Life of Hong Kong

City Life of Hong Kong, trams

City Life of Hong Kong, Causeway Bay

City Life of Hong Kong

One response to “Shen Ping and the colours of Hong Kong

  1. Pingback: Seeing below | GeoFoodie·

Leave a Reply

