Edward Hopper

Many of you know who he is so I’ll just start with my thoughts on his art.

His paintings really caught my heart at the time I first saw them, though they were from totally different eras and country I was in. The desolation of city in his works just applies everywhere in this world. I was living in the city center and doing a job I didn’t like and life sucked. But my mind seemed to heal a little bit when seeing those paintings. His windows are often dramatically enlarged. (Showing the lifelessness outside?)And his people are all looking out of the windows with restless faces. That’s what people do when feeling lonely or sad. His paintings are just too realistic.

Art heals your soul sometimes because you find consonance in them. You know that you are not alone. We all find ourselves in his paintings… sometimes.

Image

edward_hopper_shop_city_sunlight_postcard_1

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

P.S. I always think that the place I worked got some similarities with the paintings…

1211-00205-004b1

Leave a Reply

